I recently stumbled across a quiz that offered to pick which candidate’s policies best suited you. I don’t often take Internet quizzes, but for a lark I did this one. I was curious as to whether it would rate Obama or Edwards more strongly. To my surprise, I was matched with a total unknown, to me at least: Dennis Kucinich. Reading the Wikipedia page on him, all I can say is, damn, an Establishment American politician with sensible policies. How did that happen? Did he miss the memo or something?

Hardly surprising, the Republicans all rated poorly, but the Democrats were totally not what I expected. I didn’t recognise most of the names, and I would have expected John Edwards to rate much higher rather than neck-and-neck with Hillary. Go figure.

92% Dennis Kucinich
91% Mike Gravel
83% Chris Dodd
81% Barack Obama
79% Bill Richardson
78% Hillary Clinton
78% John Edwards
76% Joe Biden
39% Rudy Giuliani
33% Ron Paul
30% John McCain
22% Mike Huckabee
20% Mitt Romney
13% Tom Tancredo
11% Fred Thompson

This is a good time to mention just how many of the Republican candidates resemble villains from Buffy The Vampire Slayer — in the case of some of them, physically as well as politically.

